h1

Turn and Face the Strange

9 April, 2011

Flitting through my mind is a melodic phrase from David Bowie:

Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes! Turn and face the strange.

Bowie’s song “Changes” features heavily in my life now. My entire life is in flux and the changes occurring (some wonderful, some terrible, and many of them strange) leave me feeling as though The Divine thrust a hand into my reality and drug the internal out of Plato’s cave and into the painful light of the mundane everyday. From my marriage to my friendships to my presentation of self to my inner monologue, everything is changing.

Yeats said:

Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold.

And I agree with him, in part. Everything is crumbling back into the lumps of red brick clay from which they were fashioned, but the center, ah yes! the center, Dearest Reader, must hold. It must hold because it does not have a voice in the matter and because without it the world, my world, will go gyrating wildly through the inky void and careen into the sun. This is how the world goes out not with a bang but a puff of fission created smoke.

So, to help stabilize the center, the essence of who I am. I have joined the mass of people tapping their neurotic musings out into the net’s ether. Stick around and watch from your secure vantage in font of your screen as I journey down the rabbit hole.

