h1

Caitlin on Christenings

27 May, 2011

After today, I am rewriting the Jackson Five. What do you think of this: Easy as, R-E-D! Simple as T-A-P-E! R-E-D T-A-P-E complicates things for me!

I returned to Whitman-Walker and took care of med issues. Then I waited to see one of their pro bono lawyer. I had with me my passport, driver’s license, and a slew of questions about paper work on loans, diplomas, testing results, medical files, separation and divorce papers, pay checks, social security, selective service registration, “et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.” I was there to continue the process of changing my name and gender marker. Though the hoops I must jump through are not simple, the entire process sounded easier than I anticipated for getting a passport ID with the new name and gender marker.

The lawyer and I sat down and discussed the process. The first step is to get my name changed at the courthouse in Alexandria. We filled out all of the paperwork for that, which enables me to march into the courthouse, turn in my papers, and get my name changed.

Unfortunately, nothing ever goes so smooth. To begin, parking at the courthouse, located in the old town shopping district, was a bear. Then, I went to the wrong department first and had to go from third floor to the basement to the Law Library.

Once there I had to wait seventeen minutes for her to finish her lunch before I could get the one form I still needed. Still struggling forward, I had to fill the forms out a second time because the notary republic who legalized the first set, forgot to sign the forms after which I had to cross the street to get the new forms notarized—which also required going through the metal detectors several more times. I sat in the bank for twenty minutes waiting to have my papers notarized.

Returning to the courthouse, I went straight to the clerk’s office passed them the papers and only for them to say, “I need to see you proof of residency.”

. . .

. . . That’s when I realized I forgot to bring a copy of my lease with. Because of that I couldn’t get the forms submitted today. They did, however, tell me I have all my paperwork in order, which means . . .

. . . Tuesday I can march into the courthouse, turn in my papers, and get my name changed.

