h1

Trans Women in Media

25 March, 2016

I want trans women detectives and lawyers.
I want trans women artists and beatniks.
I want trans women piloting starships.
I want trans women raising families.
I want trans women working as social workers, teachers, and counselors.
I want trans women nurses, doctors, and surgeons.
I want trans women working with engines.
I want trans women running cabs and subways.
I want trans women doing what people do and
I want what what they do to be what they do and not just who they are.
I want to see my life and the lives of those I love up on the screen.
I want characters who represent me, who show my potential for greatness, and my darkest self doubts.
I want trans women in media because
I want to see myself
                                      and know I belong.

